KUALA LUMPUR: The Akademi Badminton Malaysia (ABM) has dropped three men’s singles players - Lee Shun Yang, Chia Jeng Hon and Rex Hooi Shao Heng.

National men’s singles coach Hendrawan said the decision was made based on their performance in international tournaments and during training sessions.

“This is very difficult as we usually drop one or two players only. Their performance was evaluated based on their performances in tournaments and data,” he told a media conference on the assessment of the national players in the ABM in Bukit Kiara here today.

Hendrawan said Shun Yang, however, will be allowed to train at the academy, in addition to being offered a role as a sparring partner.

The 51-year-old coach said that ABM had also taken an approach to divide the existing players into two groups - A and B.

Group A will comprise Ng Tze Yong, Aidil Sholeh Ali Sadikin, Leong Jun Hao, Justin Hoh and Eogene Ewe while Group B will consist of Shaqeem Eiman Shahyar, Chua Kim Sheng, Ong Ken Yon, Ong Zhen Yi and Jacky Kok.

Hendrawan said the difference between the two groups is that the shuttlers in Group A will compete in 12 to 14 tournaments a year while those in Group B will have their participation reduced to about four to six only.

“They can improve their position to be included in Group A, on condition they produce good results when we send them for tournaments,” he said.–Bernama