Two new ministers, new assistant ministers sworn in

07 May 2017 / 18:45 H.

KUCHING: Two ministers and two assistant ministers who were appointed in the Sarawak Cabinet yesterday were sworn in before head of state Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud at a swearing in ceremony held at the Astana Negri here.
The two full ministers were Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah (Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports) and Datuk Talib Zulpilip (Minister in the Chief Minister's Office for Integrity and Ombudsman).
Abdul Karim and Talib were assistant ministers but promoted to full ministers in the State Cabinet reshuffle announced by Sarawak Chief Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Openg yesterday after the conclusion of the Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu (PBB) "Jasamu Dikenang" special convention.
Two new assistant ministers sworn in today were Abdullah Saidol (Chief Minister's Office Corporate Affairs) and Snowdan Lawan (Youth and Sports).
PBB acting deputy president Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan has also been appointed as Sarawak's third deputy chief minister in the Cabinet reshuffle.
Awang Tengah was also appointed as Second Minister for Urban Development and Natural Resources, while retaining his portfolio as Minister of Industrial and Entrepreneur Development.
Abang Johari had said the reshuffle was timely and necessary to implement policies that he had announced earlier and believed the new cabinet can improve on what has been planned to move the state forward. — Bernama

thesundaily_my Sentifi Top 10 talked about stocks