NIBONG TEBAL: Nomination for the Sungai Bakap state by-election closed at 10 am today.

Returning officer Khairulnizam Hashim made the announcement at the Jawi Multipurpose Hall, Taman Desa Jawi, here.

The Sungai Bakap by-election was called following the death of its incumbent Nor Zamri Latiff, on May 24 due to stomach inflammation.

ALSO READ: Sungai Bakap by-election kicks off today

Nor Zamri, who was Nibong Tebal PAS chief, won the seat in the state election last August after defeating Pakatan Harapan’s Nurhidayah Che Rose with a 1,563-vote majority.

The Election Commission (EC) has set July 6 for polling, with early voting on July 2 and a 14-day campaign period running from the announcement of candidates until 11.59 pm on July 5.

A total of 39,279 electors, including 57 police personnel are eligible to vote in this by-election.

READ MORE: Nomination opens for Sungai Bakap by-election